In 1965, a small organization of Coffey County residents wanted to share their historic heritage and worked to breathe life into the Coffey County Historical Society and Museum.
The first museum was originally housed in a single showcase in the courthouse lobby. In 1974, it moved to a building donated and staffed by dedicated volunteers. In 1985, the doors opened at the current location. As the organization grew, it once again needed more room and an addition was completed in 1988, followed by the Cochran Addition 1999.
The Museum’s display space of over 14,000 sq. ft. features one of the largest antique doll collections in the state of Kansas. Other notable features include a restored 1896 One Room Country Schoolhouse, a restored 1895 Country Church (available for weddings and community events) and a restored Conestoga Wagon.
An extensive Genealogy Library is also available for research.
Museum Admission is Free
Donations are Appreciated
|10:00 to 5:00 *
|Saturday & Sunday:
|1:00 to 4:00 **
|* The Museum is closed on most national holidays.
|** The Museum is open most weekends.
Please call ahead before planning a weekend visit to ensure that the Museum will be open.
Please call ahead for a guided tour. Groups or individuals wanting to view the Museum without a guide are welcome at all times during normal business hours. To schedule a guided tour, please contact the Museum.